When Do I Sit Down?

Modern mom just trying to make it!

Why moms don’t really get vacations June 12, 2013

Filed under: Family Fun!,moms understand — hmyers1 @ 7:28 am
Tags: , , , ,

20130612-072149.jpg

You know what I did on vacation? LAUNDRY!!! I admit I am happy I did it so it is now one less thing to do when I get back but still it is vacation. As a mom of three 7, 4, and 7 months I know that a mom never truly gets to take a vacation. I have spent most of my time at the condo with the baby feeding him or letting him nap. A few years a go I did the same thing with E at a music conference and the TV had terrible Chanel’s and the Internet did not work – it was terrible!!! At least this time I have ok Internet and ok TV. In fact the best part of vacation has been watching the Chew and drinking a glass of wine as the baby napped.

Don’t think that once you kids are grown that you get out of the mom trap on vacation. We are here without my husband so when I can’t take the kids swimming, out on the boat, to get ice cream, or whatever other activity their is guess who gets to do it MY MOM! She even made a comment that she had done nothing for her self at one point.

It was my mom or I that took care of most of the meals and the dishes. We did plan to eat at the condo to save money and my step dad helped with dinner. When all was said and done the majority of the work went to the moms.

So what if all the moms just went on vacation together? I don’t know about you but I don’t think I would want to come home to the aftermath of being gone for more than about three days and the prep work to be gone would be sooooooo tiring that I would not enjoy the vacation. Don’t get me wrong my husband is a fantastic guy and does a lot around the house ( even laundry ) but it is just not the same.

So I guess I will never have another vacation……well maybe in 18 years when the baby goes to college I can sneak one in.

 

Leave a comment