When Do I Sit Down?

Modern mom just trying to make it!

Home Summer School May 30, 2013

 

sun

This year K is going to summer school. This will be the first year normally we do it at home.  She is excited because she will get a jump on 3rd grade (and she cried on the last day of school because she did not want it to be summer….something is wrong with that kid.) E will still go to daycare most of the time. I still have to pay to keep his spot for the school year and he loves playing with his friends. I do not send him all the time. This week he only ended up going two days because of family activities and make up dance lessons. The baby is home all summer. He is changing child care providers so we saw this as a good way to work on his development with some one on one time and to save some cash! I still need to have some activities for the kids to do so they are just not in front of the TV or trying to get on my iPad.  K summer school only goes until the end of June so I still have all of July and August to work with them.

We have some busy bags that I need to get out so we all remember they are there. I am going to make them Summer Binders with work book pages and make an award to put at the back and a coupon to get an ice cream at the Dollar General. We also have rehears for a production of South Pacific that the big kids are in. It is an hour drive and it is a professional theater so it will be a good learning experience for them.  They are not in the show much so there will be some down time and the Summer Binders will be a big help with that I think.

Like I said in my post yesterday we do the library and Barnes and Noble reading programs. (We got the Barnes and Noble one for K yesterday and she had completed it).  I look for other activities for us to do as well. I have pined some things on Pinterest that I am going to look at too.

I read this blog post by   called Do-It-Yourself Summer Camp. It had some good ideas and some were like things I have done in the past. I love keeping journals. One summer we had a food journal, a field trip journal, and a nature journal. This was when K was in preschool so she drew all of her journals.

I will post updates as I get things done. I plan on starting this Sunday or Monday. Sunday starts the 42 day stretch that my husband is gone so I will need all the structure I can get.

 

 

Leave a Reply

