When Do I Sit Down?

Modern mom just trying to make it!

Homemade sports drink – 2 quarts for less then a $1 April 2, 2013

I am on my last day of Spring Brake and home with a sick kid. We do not drink sports drinks often but when the kids or I get sick we like to have them around. (I crave the red kind when I am sick). I have been wanting to try this for several months because I know it is so much cheaper.

I looked online and found LOTS of recipes for sports drinks. This one was simple so I went with it. The recipe is from the post Homemade Gatorade on the blog Living on a Dime.

Homemade Gatorade

2 quarts water
1 teaspoon baking soda
1-2 teaspoons salt
7 Tablespoons sugar
1 packet Sugar-Free Kool-Aid

NOTE: We like it better with 1 teaspoon of salt. I also made some without the baking soda and it was fine too (I had two things of corn starch and no baking soda – that is just plane crazy!)

 

homemade sports drink less then a $1

After voting today my son and I went to Dollar General and got some Wyler’s dink mix for $.13 a pack (Kool Aid cost more and I like Wyler’s better anyway). The cost of the salt, sugar, and baking soda could not be much so we got 2 quarts of Sports Drink for way less then what one single serving would cost at the store!

Thinking this would be fun to make into ice cubes to put in the kids water in the summer as a treat on HOT HOT Missouri days. Also would be a treat to put in the kids water cooler I put outside for them when we stay out all day. Most they time it will be good old H2O but this would be fun to make it the night before and drink it the next day.

 

 

 

One Response to “Homemade sports drink – 2 quarts for less then a $1”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    Thanks for sharing this. I like your idea of freezing them in ice cubes and putting them in the water bottles. Would add just a touch of flavor and not all the extra sugar from other drinks.


Leave a Reply

