When Do I Sit Down?

Modern mom just trying to make it!

Crayon box from Duct Tape and an old box January 2, 2013

I was cleaning my elementary classroom today after my extended leave getting ready from the first day back from wither brake. Because I had only been a school for three weeks before I left I still had lots of things I had not gotten done. One of those things was organize a quick way to hand out crayons to the kids. Being a music teacher we don’t have desk or tables that the kids sit at. They sit on the ground! We don’t use crayons all the time so to save money I get the discarded crayons from the art room or that I have purged from my kids at home. All I had was an ice cream bucket of crayons and that was not working.  I thought of several different things I had seen on Pinterest and hit the clearance at Wal-Mart and this is what I came up with.

Here are my supplies: Popcorn box from the recycle bin at school, ice cream cups that where on clearance at Wal-Mart for 75 cents, and  two colors of Duct Tape.

001

 

This was fast an easy. First I cut off the flaps from the box (I did save the cardboard never know when I might need that). Then I simply covered that box with the tape. Then I put one pack of the cups in the box.

002

There are eight cups in the pack and only seven fit. The nice thing is the box is deep so I can go two high if I think I need to.

003

 

I will decide how many cups I want when I get to school tomorrow and fill them with crayons.  This should work well. I can had one student the box and have them hand the cups to each group to share!

 

Leave a Reply

