When Do I Sit Down?

Modern mom just trying to make it!

Thankful vs. Grateful July 25, 2012

Filed under: What is this all about? — hmyers1 @ 7:59 am
Tags: , ,

Surprise baby has gotten me thinking about a lot of different things but the one that has made the biggest change in my life is being grateful. I had this realization that I have been thankful for all of the things we have but I am not sure if I have been grateful for the things I have. I feel that I have never been content with what I have and have been trying to move to the next level in many parts of my life.

When I found out we were having #3 and I was 20 weeks into things I started to stress about how we were all going to fit, and function, in our 3 bedroom 1 bath house. Then my husband and I went to pick up the baby things that I friend of mine from high school wanted to give us and I was reminded that they had chosen to live in a camper with three small kids for three years. His was in the military and they lived in 8 states in 5 years so the camper made things simpler for them.  They had 3 kids in 3 1/2 years and lived in a camper. I am sooo grateful that we have a house and room for us all to be.

I was stressing about not having anything for this baby because we had passed it all on to others. My friends from high school gave us almost everything we needed. I still did not have a big stroller or a high chair but other people I know are passing theirs on two us. With out people like this I don’t know what I would have done. My husbands aunt and sister are so good about handing down boy clothes so that my 3 year old and this baby will have clothes. My 6 year old is the oldest girl so I pass on her things but we don’t get many hand me downs for her. I am grateful she has loving grandparents that make sure she has the clothes she needs.

I could go on but I am sure you get the idea. I am just really learning to appreciated what we have in the way of family, friends, and the hard work my husband and I put into making things work. It has been very humbling.

 

Leave a Reply

