When Do I Sit Down?

Modern mom just trying to make it!

Homemade mouthwash July 20, 2012

Filed under: Frugal Living — hmyers1 @ 1:09 pm
Tags: , , ,

I never have mouthwash and I always wish that I did. My youngest sister started making her own (along with shampoo, conditioner, laundry soap, face cleaner, and some other things). Being inspired I thought that I two could make my own mouth wash. She gave me some peppermint and tea tree essential oils to get started. Because I am pregnant I am unable to use the tea tree oil for anything that would be consumed but will find some other ways to put it to good use!

I found several good sounding recipes for homemade mouthwash BreathMD.com This is the recipe that I based mine on

Baking Soda Mouthwash

  • 1 cup of water
  • 1 tsp of baking soda
  • 4 drops of pure peppermint oil
  • 4 drops of tea tree oil
  • Mix ingredients

I left out the tea tree oil because I am unable to use it at this time.

Turns out that my little jelly jar holds a cup so I will not have to

measure that every time!  My 6 year old daughter and I both tried it I liked it

a lot! My 6 year old told me it was like magic!!  If that is not a good review I don’t

knww what is.

NOTE: Just had a friend of mine that is a dental hygienist tell me that this is good stuff! That makes me happy.

 

Leave a Reply

