When Do I Sit Down?

Modern mom just trying to make it!

Mix and Match Quick Bread June 23, 2012

Filed under: Freezer Cooking — hmyers1 @ 8:40 am
Tags: , ,

I get the Food Network Magazine from my husbands grandmother every year for Christmas. In the May 2011 issue there was a recipe for Mix and Match Quick Bread.  I made the Banana Bread with Oats last summer and it was wonderful.  I sliced it and froze it and it was so simple to pull one out, pop it in the toaster, and BAM! the kids had breakfast. The concept is simple you pick from pear, apple, banana, carrot, or zucchini and then pick from the several mix-ins.

My daughter and I made 3 difrent batches today to freeze.

Apple Nut

Banana Oat Chocolate Chip

Banana Oat

I know two Banana ones but I had a lot of bananas on hand (they where on sale for 29 cents a pound at Aldi last week so I got four big bunches – we only have one left). After the garden starts producing there will be zucchini bread too!

The recipe is linked above but I did make one change.  When it calls for oil I use applesauce. Applesauce works just as well and better for you.  I also used plain yogurt not sour cream when given the choice in the recipe.  I leave out step 6, the glaze, all together.  I don’t think the bread needs it at all.  Why add extra calories if I don’t need to? We do put peanut butter or Nutella  on the Banana Oat from time to time.

Here is the photos of the finished product.

Apple Nut and Banana Oat Chocolate Chip

Banana Oat

To freeze I did not do much because we eat it up kind of fast.

I put wax paper between two slices and then put it in the freezer in a marked zip top bag.

 With the wax paper!

Ready to freeze!

One loaf fits in a large zip top bag with no problem.

 

Leave a Reply

