When Do I Sit Down?

Modern mom just trying to make it!

Why I line dry. June 20, 2012

So people think I am nuts when I tell them I line dry our clothes. I even try to do it in the winter but in Missouri and working full time that can be a little overwhelming some times. For this post I am going to stick with just why I do it.  I will save tips for later and post about winter drying closer to winter.

1. It saves MONEY! I guess that is a no brainier but that is the big reason why. Not only does it save money from not running the dryer it is also less where and tare on your clothes. What do you think dryer lint is?  If you live at our house it is about 30% cat hair and the rest is the fabric your clothes are made of. The heat from the dryer also brakes down the elastic in your socks and underpants. The dryer is a energy hog too!

2. It saves TIME! I know that some people think that is crazy. At first it takes some time to get the hang of it (no pun  intended) but then it is a time saver. It also depends on the weather too.  Today it was 85, there was a 10 mile an hour wind, and there was low humidity. PERFECT!! I did 7 loads of laundry, from gathering it up to putting it away, in about 6 hours. That was with 3 large blankets and 6 towels. I just took one load out of the wash and put the next one in. By the time the next load was washed the first load was dry. If it was not that is fine two I can get two loads on that line at the same time. I have to pay attentions to the weather and do some planing but I is worth it.

3. I get some ME TIME! Lots of time when I go out to the line I get to go alone. My kids will be playing and stay inside. Or I will wash a load the night before and hang it before everyone it awake.  Even if the kids come out with me they will play on the swing set or some times I give them a treat and they eat it on the deck. This lets me clear my head and think about the next thing I need to do. It is also nice when the kids play in the wash that is on the line or help me hang it.

4. It is GREEN! This is the main reason most people think I hang the wash.  I consider this a bonus.  Ok, that is not the PC answer but it is true.  Yep, I do my little bit to save the earth but my big reason I do it is to save some of my hard earned green.

Will hanging the wash work for everyone? No. Even it you just hang some of your wash you will see an improvement. I know last summer my husband and I where shocked at how much we saved a month on our bill. I think we figure it was about $40 a month. The one month it was nice and we did not have the AC on we saved $80 from the year before. What can you do with $40 extra a month?

NOTE: I do dry about one load a week. I have to blankets that I don’t like to line dry and my husband does not like when I hang his work clothes. When I have to run the dryer I try to do it at night when energy is cheaper.

 

Leave a Reply

